Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Penn Reels

Hybrid View

Cool Penn Reels

I've been using Penn Peer 209 and 309 reels for a couple of years. I decided to double my flathead catfish arsenal and found an exceptionally nice old Penn Long Beach 65 reel at a local antiques/collectables shop. It looks barely used. I've used it for @ 9 months now and really like it, better than the new levelwind 209 and 309 reels. Casts better and fewer moving parts. I donated the 209 as a raffle prize at my fishing club's annual Flat Cat Classic tournament in May. About 4 months ago I purchased a couple used Penn reels on e-bay; a Long Beach 67 and a Senator 112 (4/0) that work well but show a fair amount of corrosion from salt water use. I used them and liked them but they seemed a bit large for my needs and decided what I really want are more Long Beach 65 reels. A few days ago I found 2 brand new still in box Long Beach 65's on e-bay. Just got the first one today. What an awesome reel! I've put away the Long Beach 67 and Senator as back up spares. Think I'll give the 67 to my fishing partner for his birthday in September as his old Penn reel is a disaster. Also, @ 3 weeks ago on e-bay I found a Penn Peer 109 reel in exceptional condition that I purchased for one of my 2 channel catfish rods, so I've accumulated a really nice collection of rugged bullet proof Penn reels for my catfishing adventures. And they look cool as heck as well! May have to change my posting name from bass or bass to Mr. Penn! LOL
    "Channels are cool, but Flatheads rule!"
    ~Outdoor-Fishing Pro Staff~A.C.C.A.~BoatU.S.~N.R.A.~

Penn has always made really good reels very underrated. Use them on my walleye trolling rods.

Moderator & Outdoor-Fishing Salt Pro Staffer barresi's Avatar